Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Gala

Each year the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Committee selects up to six individuals and two teams from a list of nominations to be formally inducted into the AHHF Gallery.

It is at our prestigious awards gala that these recipients are acknowledged and celebrated for the successes and contributions in and to the game of hockey. Since 2015, inductees have been recognized at a special gala event held in Canmore. Prior to that, the induction evening occurred as part of the Hockey Alberta Awards Evening.

The AHHF Awards Gala provides an opportunity for guests to enjoy not only the event, but time together in the beautiful Rocky Mountains. The gala, full of hockey history, stories, great food and unique silent auction items is certainly one that inductees, families, friends, past inductees and you are sure to enjoy!

The 2020 inductees are Bill Bucyk, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Bob Clark, John Davidson, Dr. Randy Gregg, Ken Hitchcock, Jamie Macoun, 1974-75 Lethbridge Native Sons. See complete bios >

The induction gala for the 2020 Class of the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The celebration event for the Class of 2020 will be postponed another year, and will be held Sunday, July 17, 2021 at the Coast Hotel in Canmore. Ticket sales will resume later this year.

“It’s been a challenging year for many and with the uncertainty around COVID-19 and restrictions in place, the AHHF committee made the difficult decision to postpone the event for another year,” said Al Coates, chair of the AHHF. “The AHHF strives to bring Alberta’s hockey family together, and we want to ensure our inductees have the opportunity to do just that. We look forward to seeing everyone safe and healthy at the event in 2022.”

The 2022 Gala will mark the 40th anniversary of the AHHF. In addition to the 2020 inductees, it is expected that a Class of 2022 will be recognized.

2022 Event Partners

Nominations are now open for the 2022 AHHF Induction Class and are sought from members of the public to recognize:

> individuals who have made a significant contribution to the game of hockey in Alberta through regional, national, or international accomplishments, or for their contributions to the growth and development of the game in Alberta.

> groups or teams who achieved a significant result at a National or International level or impacted on a provincial level under exceptional circumstances.

Nominate an Individual >

Nominate a Group or Team >

For information on the AHHF Gala contact

For information on AHHF Nominations contact