2015 Induction Class

The 2015 Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame (AHHF) Inductees entered the ranks of Alberta’s hockey legends this past Saturday (July 25th) at the AHHF Inductee & Awards Gala in Canmore.

This year’s inductees include Canada’s collegiate level Most Winningest Hockey Coach (Ken Babey), a volunteer who has dedicated over 20 years to Hockey Alberta (George Kallay), a former Edmonton Oilers Captain (Al Hamilton), the Calgary Flames all-time single season goal scorer record holder (Lanny McDonald), and a Junior A team that was unstoppable during their climb to the Centennial Cup (1979-80 Red Deer Rustlers).

Thanks to a number of generous sponsors and donors, a grand total of $13,360 was raised at the event through live and silent auctions, as well as a newly added "wine pull". All funds raised support the Hockey Alberta Foundation’s Every Kid Every Community program.

The AHHF Selection Committee added a new award - the Founders Award. This prestigious honoured the longest standing and founding four members of the AHHF Selection Committee. It is through their dedication, commitment and passion to the sport of hockey in Alberta that has helped evolve the vision, stature and prestige of the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame. AHHF Selection Committee Chair Bob Clark presented the inaugural Founders Awards to Ernie Boruk, Vern Paul, Howard Wurban, and Mac MacLeod.

Photos of the inductee presentations are available for viewing on our Flickr page (courtesy of LA Media).